The EACEA (Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency, funders of the programme) will advise in October 2012 on the number of Fellowships available for 2013 entry.

Eligibility criteria:

Category A Fellowships: These Fellowships are awarded to doctoral candidates who come from a country other than an EU member state or associated countries and who are neither residents nor have carried out their main activity (studies, work, etc.) for more than a total of 12 months over the last five years in the EU. The only exception to this rule applies to doctoral candidates who have previously received an Erasmus Mundus masters scholarship in order to follow an EMMC - such students are eligible under this Category. (Note: 'EU member state or associated countries', for the purposes of this Category, includes all 27 EU member states and the EFTA countries Norway, Liechtenstein, and Iceland.)

Category B Fellowships: These Fellowships are awarded to doctoral candidates who do not fulfil the Category A criteria listed above. Candidates from the EU will have to apply under this category.

Western Balkan/Turkey window: There may be one or more additional Category A Fellowship available for candidates from Turkey or the Western Balkan countries (Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia).

All Erasmus Mundus Fellowship holders on the TEEME programme will benefit from Fellowship contracts covering monthly allowance, holidays, parental leave, social security and pension rights. Health insurance will be provided free of charge by the consortium for all doctoral candidates on the programme. (For details of the Fellowship contract, see the TEEME Doctoral Handbook.)

Details of the Fellowship contracts, including the amount of the monthly allowance, will be available soon. Fellowship holders can expect a monthly net contribution towards their living expenses of c. 2000€.

Other funding options

Candidates will be eligible to apply for targeted research grants as well as partially or fully funded studentships other than Erasmus Mundus at all four partner universities. Specifically, Kent offers a number of PhD studentships each year in all participating departments to both EU and overseas candidates and supports all research students with a minimum allowance for research expenses each year; the Dahlem Research School at FU Berlin offers a range of travel and mobility grants, as well as start-up and completion scholarships to postgraduate students, both EU and international; Porto participates in a variety of national funding schemes to which researchers can apply for small research grants, short-term scholarships and travel expenses; and at Prague students will be able to apply for the grants offered by the Charles University Foundation (GAUK). In addition, students will receive support and guidance to apply for any further funding for which they may be eligible in their home countries.


You do not need to hold an Erasmus Mundus Fellowship to study on TEEME. Applicants who have been offered a place on the programme but were not awarded a Fellowship will have to cover the programme fees (5,000€ p.a. for EU students and 8,000€ p.a. for third-country students) through other means. Erasmus Mundus Fellowship holders do not have to pay these fees as they are included in their EU grant.


Apply now